--- title: "Deactivate or reactivate the app user" slug: "how-to-deactivate-a-user" updated: 2025-04-29T17:44:37Z published: 2025-04-29T17:44:37Z canonical: "help.sanas.ai/how-to-deactivate-a-user" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.sanas.ai/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deactivate or reactivate the app user ### Introduction This guide explains how to [deactivate](/v1/docs/how-to-deactivate-a-user#deactivate-app-user-via-portal-ui) an app user and how to [reactivate](/v1/docs/how-to-deactivate-a-user#reactivate-app-user) a previously deactivated one. ### Before you begin - **Access**: You’ll need access to the **Sanas Portal** to follow the procedure below. - **Limitation**: The portal users can take the following actions: - **Admin**: Deactivate or reactivate an app user from any Team within the Workspace. - **Supervisor**: Deactivate or reactivate the app user from the assigned Teams only. ### Deactivate app user (via Portal UI) > [!NOTE] > 📔 **Note**: Avoid manual app user deactivation with [automatic deactivation for inactive app users](/v1/docs/automatic-inactive-app-users-deactivation). Automatic detactivation is currently limited to the **Accent Translation** Workspaces. 1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal](https://portal2.sanas.ai) using your credentials. 2. Click **Users** from the navigation menu and ensure the **App users** tab is selected. 3. Select the Team containing the users you want to deactivate. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image-1745948239567.png) 4. Select the check box next to the app user(s) you want to deactivate. Use the search bar to find app users in the selected team. 5. Click **Deactivate users.** ![Manual user deactivation](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image-1745948281625.png) 6. In the confirmation dialog box, click **Deactivate** to confirm your action. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(351).png) 7. Review the deactivated app users to confirm the changes. See [Review deactivated app users](/v1/docs/review-deactivated-app-users). ### Deactivate app user (via Bulk import) 1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal](https://www.portal2.sanas.ai) using your credentials. 2. Click **Users** from the navigation menu. 3. Click **Bulk import**. Opens the bulk import window. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(460).png) 4. Ensure the **App users** tab is selected. 5. Click **Download template**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(457).png) 6. Open the downloaded template and enter the following users’ details: > [!NOTE] > 📔 **Note**: Enter **Yes** in the template’s deactivate column next to the user you wish to deactivate. You may encounter an error if the user details you entered are incorrect. | Parameter | Value | | --- | --- | | User ID | User ID of the app user | | Name | Full name | | Team | Currently assigned Team | | Deactivate | `Yes` | 7. Click **Select Excel** file to browse and upload the prepared template file from your computer. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(458).png) 8. Click **Review upload** to analyze the action. 1. If you encounter an error, review the details or click **Download error report** for detailed analysis. Modify the template file accordingly and re-upload it. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(456).png) 2. If the template uploads successfully, review the actions or click **Download report** for a detailed analysis. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(459).png) 9. Click **Confirm upload** to save changes. ### Reactivate the app user 1. Log in to the [Sanas Portal](https://portal2.sanas.ai) using your credentials. 2. Click **Users** from the navigation menu. Ensure the **App users** tab is selected. 3. Click **View deactivated users** under the ellipsis (**⋮**) menu option.![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(352).png) 4. Select the check box next to the app user(s) you want to reactivate. 5. Click **Activate**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(353).png) 6. Click **Activate** to confirm your action. Reactivated app users are reassigned to the Team they were assigned to before deactivation. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/9bc36e9c-f402-4213-b56f-4ecdf805bb1a/Images/Documentation/image(354).png) ### Support **Need help?** Get in touch with our [Support Team](mailto:support@sanas.ai) for assistance. A Team is a unit within a Sanas Workspace that groups App Users working on a common project.